top of page
Search
  • Claire Yunjei TSAI

The Achemist



The Alchemist

The cover was outmoded and rotten, I had read it once when I was little.

It was just a magical story for me to be entertained, couldn't have I realized the meaning and wisdom behind the words. The gift the author was trying to give to the world. Now I understand why this little book that I randomly grab before heading to the airport was chosen. I am Santiago. Santiago is me.


My spirit and my will is well prepared now, the time has come. And the journey has began long before I hop on that flight to Thailand. It started with a small flame in my heart, and a soft whisper besides my ears calling my name, until the fire was so big that I have to push myself out to the world and take all the risk that is required. To burn this life.


And when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it. People told me that they envy my life;to be able to travel, meet new people, experience different cultures. The thing is we all have a choice - some choices are harder than the others for sure, but we all do.


The greatest lie of life is that in a certain point, we lose control of what is happening to us and our lives become controlled by fate. I am not saying it is easy, because it is not. Instead it is so hard and difficult that you have to encounter so many obstacles and question yourself a million times for the decision you have made.


When I tell people I come to Thailand for volunteer work, most people react with a surprised face that I have such a good heart and I am willing to devote my time and money to those in need. To be honest, I am nothing great. All I want is to do is be myself. I was just trying to follow the omens.


The reason I left Taiwan is because I knew I couldn't have found the real aspect of south bound policy while sitting in the classroom staring at the power point content that my professor copied from the government official website. As I finish my last sip of beer from the bottle, talking to a Singaporian who explains to me how strict the law of renting in Singapore is, and how Singapore has build up a system of security.


Everyday I wake up, get ready and walk out of my hostel. I feel so grateful that I am here in Bankok, me and myself. I decided to open my heart and turn on my five senses to feel this world, and what it is trying to teach me. This is education, this can be education.

The problem of people is that we do not even realize that we are actually walking a new road every day. They don't see that the stores are new and the seasons change. All they think of is work and study. To discover beauty in life we don't have to go abroad and be in a new country. You see the beauty through the heart of open mind.


牧羊少年的奇幻之旅

我的第一個讀書心得分享

很久以前就讀過這本書,上頭都還有小時候羞澀的筆記,

直到那日在曼谷的咖啡廳裡才再次被翻開,像是命中註定一般

讀完前序,我就明白,這本出發前隨手從書櫃上一抓的小冊子,為何是他陪著我踏上這段旅程,我的牧羊少年奇幻之旅。

其中的精妙智慧,寓意深遠,不是當時那個我可以理解的,也許更多的大人質今也讀不出,作者背後想送給他們的禮物。

當別人聽到我來泰國,並不是主要來玩,而是來做志工的時候。有時他們會露出十分詫異的表情,竟然願意奉獻自己的時間、金錢跟精力給有需要幫助的人。但我並沒有多偉大的愛心,不過就只是做自己想要的事情罷了。




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

百合的叛逆

想了六年的刺青,最終在與母親爭吵搬出家後的一個月,成了背上發紅的百合。 相信在亞洲社會還是有許多對於刺青的刻板印象,比起抽煙可能對自身與周遭健康造成的影響,刺青既不害人,也不傷己。卻還可以用更正大光明的中國倫理“身體髮膚,受之父母”持續情緒勒索,拿著孝義仁愛的尺衡量著青年,...

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page